Skip to content

Phil Ervine (philflak) 110 Reward points (110)

Fryar Tuck, Belfast
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

About 2 years ago

Pretty good fish and chip shop. Not as good as John dorys but still good.

Little Wing Pizzeria, Belfast
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

About 2 years ago

My local pizzeria, nothing I don’t like about the place.

James Street South, Belfast
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

About 3 years ago

I had an excellent visit here recently. I had read mixed reviews online, but decided to give it a shot anyway.

The scallops to start with were immense, and my venison shank was beautiful. My only gripe was my fiancée’s duck was a bit fatty.

The service was very good, and they left over 30 mins between starter and main course, which let us have a chat and not feel rushed over the meal.

The decor is pretty cool, very modern and clean cut - something a bit different for Belfast.

£100 for the 2 of us, including 3 courses each, and a bottle of red wine. Quite expensive, but you get what you pay for in here.

Harlem Cafe, Belfast
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

About 3 years ago

After reading great reviews on here I decided to pop in with my fiancée.

I had the club sandwich with french fries, and the better half had the stew.

The food was great, and although my sandwich was a bit overpriced at £7.50, it was pretty damn tasty.

The service was nice, and quick, and the decor in the place is awesome.

Overall a great wee spot for a quick bite, also would be good for a chilled out lunch.

Will be back.

Odyssey Cinemas, Belfast
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

About 4 years ago

Decent cinema, with a great VIP option. Only problem is that it doesn’t have the Orange Wednesday’s promotion, which is a bit disappointing.

Great popcorn too!

Made in Belfast, Belfast
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.

About 4 years ago

I have had two excellent meals here, the staff were great, the menu is extremely varied, and the food was delicious.

I had the Beef pie the first time, which was was served in a stylish way, and had the duck recently, which was great too.

The prices are reasonable enough, similar to Made in Belfast prices, and the cocktails are great too!

I would thoroughly recommend Hooligan, and will be a regular.

boojum, Belfast
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

About 4 years ago

Really good food, but it does feel like a canteen and gets seriously crowded and loud. For takeaway I would definitely recommend, but unless you’re looking for a VERY casual meal with a few mates, I wouldn’t advise sitting in.

Ginger Bistro, Belfast
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

About 4 years ago

One of my favourite spots to go for an early bite to eat in town. The pre-theatre menu is very reasonable, and really tasty. I think the full menu prices are a bit steep, but it is high quality food. The service is always spot on, and they are knowledgeable about the food and drink that they serve (which makes a change!!). It has a bit of a reputation for being a seafood restaurant, but their meat dishes are also excellent.

Grub, Belfast
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.

About 4 years ago

I had a really nice lunch here with my fiance recently. We both went for the soup and sandwich combo, my chicken apple and cashew nut sandwich was really fresh and delicious, and my butternut squash soup was very tasty. The staff were all very pleasant. My only gripe was that it wasn’t the warmest day, and they left the doors to the cafe open - which meant it wasn’t the nicest place to sit in. I will definitely be back, maybe just for takeaway next time though.

Bay Tree, Holywood
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.

About 4 years ago

Excellent food, but the service is simply poor. I have been a regular for years because of the high quality food, but the service has never been up to scratch - you are never welcomed, everything is a chore and overall it feels like the staff don’t really want you to be there. It is a pity, because if they got their act together, it could be a real gem.

Latest Reviews

Get widget for your website

Total reviews10
5 stars2
4 stars5
3 stars3
2 stars0
1 star0
Following (0)
Followers (1)
  • Profile photo for Illusivelu

Subscribe to philflak's reviews